12 Replies Latest reply on Feb 22, 2017 11:52 AM by Karl Heinz Kremer

autogenerate date time seconds in form field

daviscott1982

Ok, so this is my first time asking a question on here.  I am new to Acrobat, and creating Forms, with very, very entry level javascripts.  Here is what I am trying to do:

1. I have created a "quote document" that we will be using on a mobile platform.

2. Originally, I created a text field that automatically updated the number of the "Quote Number" field by 1 everytime it was opened. 

3. However, it updates only when the document is saved as the same name as the original file.  So I deleted this. 

4. A workaround for this I believe would be to autogenerate a number in a field, in my case the field name is "Quote Number".  The number should read:

4 digits yr, 2 digit month, 2 digit date, time and seconds.  There has to be a common request for this? Again, If you could provide some basic instructions on how to insert this into my document as well it would be appreciated. 

5. When the document is opened, this number would generate. However, once the document is opened, the number would not be editable. 

Thanks for your help in advance!

• 1. Re: autogenerate date time seconds in form field
          Joel_Geraci Adobe Community Professional

For "time and seconds" I assume you want hours, minutes, seconds all 2 digits each and hours in military time. Correct?

Also, that's not a great way to create a unique number unless you're the only one using the form. We can certainly help you create the script but you may want to rethink your solution.

• 2. Re: autogenerate date time seconds in form field
            Karl Heinz Kremer Adobe Community Professional