5 Replies Latest reply on Aug 30, 2008 12:10 PM by liveoak

Dir 10 projector - sudden errors on MacBook Pro

liveoak
      Yesterday a coupe of users had script errors after installing an interactive on both a MacBook and MacBookPro, when starting an application that I've been distributing for several years now. It is a 10.1.1 projector (all the latest updates), using a quick start stub movie. All Xtras are distributed inside my installer and placed in an appropriate Xtras folder. I've probably had over a 1000 Mac users install various versions successfully over the last few years, and then every student runs the application for an hour a week over the academic year. It's been running successfully on all flavors of Mac machines - G4, G5 and Intel boxes.

After the reports of problems came in, today I began retesting this year's installer (which had all worked great on 7 or 8 test Macs) to try to track down the sudden problem. Had no errors on a G4 iBook, a G5 iMac, or my Quad-core Mac Pro. But sure enough, I also got a script error on my MacBook Pro that I had not seen before! And to complicate matters even more, a second program (that uses an identical configuration) that was installed successfully on my MBP in July now also gives the same script error at startup. Note that this laptop is not my main machine, and sees light use these days.

After extensive testing (at first thinking this might be an issue with my new installer), I noticed that a tiny dialogue box appeared on the screen for a split second, then disappeared. A portion of my projector (1024 x 768) then appeared within the same dimensions as that dialogue, then the script error came up. I used a screen capture program to record the sequence at 30 fps, and after a couple of tries was able to get the following screen shot:

http://www.aufgehts.com/images/AG_SW_error.jpg