1 Reply Latest reply on Feb 27, 2017 6:54 PM by ManiacJoe

Help me solve this mystery. LR dates/export issue - was fine, now not :-(

shaunc58871156

HI

I'm pretty new to LR, and I've either messed it up royally, or something has changed that I'm not aware of.

My workflow is this.... I have a Mac and Macbook Air, although generally only work on the Mac with LR.

I store my photos in Google photos (hard dump from camera), then download and import into LR and then develop I used an export to reduce the file size and then I import those files into my Wordpress blog.

Finally, I copy one set of the edited photos into Apple Photos, and then another set of the edited ones back into Google photos.

Up until the last few days, this seemed to work fine. That is, the location and the original dates were maintained correctly, so in Apple photos they were date sorted correctly and the locations listed.

Now, all hell has broke loose and I'm not sure what I've done.

When I export, the created/modified date changes to when it was edited. So, if I continue with my workflows they end up wrong in Google Photos/Apple Photos plus without location info,

I've spent an afternoon Google, Youtube, reading, even trying A Better Finder Attributes but I'm bushed.

I can't work out what I've done wrong, what has changed and why I'm not having this problem when I didn't seem to before.

Any help would be gratefully appreciated

With thanks

S

• 1. Re: Help me solve this mystery. LR dates/export issue - was fine, now not :-(
          ManiacJoe Adobe Community Professional

Digital pictures have two sets of dates.

In the EXIF data: capture date, software edit date.

On the file system: date the file was created, date the file was modified.

These two date systems have nothing to do with each other.

When your image was created in the camera, the capture date and the file created date were the same.