• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Using a sketch as a base - how to do line art over top

Community Beginner ,
Mar 02, 2017 Mar 02, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Okay so i'm going to start from scratch.

Can anyone give me instructions on how to create line art (that i will later colour in) by using a sketch i did as a base? In the simplest terms, as everything i've tried hasn't worked and i'm still new to it.

I have a photo of the sketch i want to trace over, but otherwise i'm really stuck on how to add layers/duplicate layers and knowing which layer to do the line art on, and how to format a new background layer to put that line art over when i'm done making it.

any help would be appreciated.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Mar 02, 2017 Mar 02, 2017

• Create a new Layer (Layer > New > Layer)

• on that do your tracing with the Brush Tool, Pencil Tool, …

• for colouring add one or more Layer between the sketch and the line-layer

If you are sure the lines are all to be the same color (black for example) you could start with a Solid Color Layer (Layer > New Fill Layer > Solid Color), add a black Layer Mask (Layer > Layer Mask > Hide All) and paint with white on that to trace the linework.

Are you planning to work in RGB or CMYK?

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

• Create a new Layer (Layer > New > Layer)

• on that do your tracing with the Brush Tool, Pencil Tool, …

• for colouring add one or more Layer between the sketch and the line-layer