3 Replies Latest reply on Mar 5, 2017 7:58 AM by Luciid3

Time remap bug?

Luciid3

i have After Effects CC 2017 and whenever I try to use time remap my time duration doesn't show up. I restarted after effects multiple times and every time i try to use time remap, my time duration isn't next to it. Am I doing something wrong or am I stupid?

note: I'm new to after effects

• 1. Re: Time remap bug?
          Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP

You have to have a movie layer or a nested composition to apply time remapping. When you apply Layer>Time>Time Remapping you get a new property on the movie layer called Time Remapping and two keyframes, one at the start of movie and one at the end. You should note that if you move the CTI to the last keyframe the comp panel will not show the movie because the CTI is parked at the end of the last visible frame, not at the beginning.

When using Time Remapping you do not get anything like a duration indicator except for the frame number listed in the Time Remapping property. I think you are confusing Time Remapping with one of the other tools you can use to change the speed of a clip.

To learn more about time remapping type Time Remapping in the search help field at the top right corner if AE and check out the help files and the community resources. This is almost always the fastest and the best way to get information about an effect or procedure that you are not sure about.