• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

M.2 performance speeds

New Here ,
Mar 05, 2017 Mar 05, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

A little background - I'm a real estate photographer that runs approx. 1100 images through a Photoshop process each day.  I won't bore you with the process, but I tweek about 1100 24 meg RAW files and convert them to jpegs.  The process runs automatically in Adobe Camera RAW.

The entire process, using a Solid State Sata Drive, takes about 90 minutes.

I have recently purchased a Samsung M.2 drive with the potential for 32 gb/sec (as opposed to the 6 gb/sec Sata SSD).  The thought is that I can cut my processing time from 90 minutes to, say, 15 or 20 minutes.

My question is, is this possible, or is there some inherent speed limit in the Adobe products that will keep me from achieving these speeds?

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

LEGEND , Mar 05, 2017 Mar 05, 2017

Without knowing anything about the actual system, nobody can tell you much. That said, it is unlikely you will see any further speed gains. Clearly even in your current scenario the actual processing is the bottleneck, not the storage. Even so, those 32 GBit/s are a theoretical value which you may not even achieve due to limitations on your PCI bus like your bandwidth hungry graphics card. You may also still choke it when reading and writing to and from the same drive. Really impossible to know

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
LEGEND ,
Mar 05, 2017 Mar 05, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied