• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

What (I think) I would like ...

Participant ,
Mar 11, 2017 Mar 11, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm not a "pro" anything but I have a nice job so I can by nice toys including Adobe CC.  So, that might put me in a narrow category of users.

I've done still photography since childhood but now the new cameras can do video and I want to play and poke and probe.  I'm not just new to Prelude but I'm fairly new to video.  I've dorked around with Pr on a few projects and Ae mostly just to see.

But...

What I think I want is "Lightroom for Video".  Let me elaborate:

Last weekend, I went to a music festival.  I have a digital audio recorder and my cameras and I came back with 500G of data -- audio, video, and stills.

I plan to play with all this data over the next several weekends, color grade it, set in and out points.  Perhaps add some special effect here or there.  And eventually I will end up with one or more videos but, to my way of thinking, I have so much more than that.  It seems like I would like to be able to keep a global database of these clips and the various insults I've done to them.

With Lr, I can do that.  I can create snap shots and virtual copies and make it so that all of the various renditions of the same photo end up "stacked" or within the same folder.  I can heavily use keywords and metadata to sort and search.  Create collections, etc.  There are just a lot of ways I can keep track of my photos in one global place so I can find and re-find the photographs in all of their various forms (edits) very quickly.

I'm looking for a product with those features but more for videos than Lr currently provides.