12 Replies Latest reply on Dec 30, 2008 9:33 AM by EWN-CMI

Accordion/Datagrid/Master-Detail Question

EWN-CMI Level 1
      I have a little simple application I am trying to get going. The layout is an Accordion with 3 Panes, each Pane has a Datagrid populated from MySql based on WHERE clause from the same table (so each row on the Datagrid regardless of Pane has the same structure). I can populate a detail Panel or From with items from a single Pane/Datagrid (ie. dg1.selectedItem.field) with a hardcoded DataSource. What would be the approach to allow the Panel/Form to be populated from any of the Datagrids (dg1, dg2, dg3) without having to duplicate the code 3 times. I am VERY new to OOP but am trying. Thanks in advance for all help and advice.
        • 1. Re: Accordion/Datagrid/Master-Detail Question
          rtalton Level 4
          Using the Accordion's change event, write some code to change which DataGrid is populating the Form based on the Accordion's selectedIndex property.
          • 2. Re: Accordion/Datagrid/Master-Detail Question
            EWN-CMI Level 1
            Thanks for the advice, I am not sure I am using it to solve my original problem, but I am now using a dynamic query using the Accordion selectedIndex to get the WHERE criteria for each DataGrid. Which works great and is much cleaner than my original, Thanks again.

I also think I figured out how to get the selectedItem from any of the DataGrids without referencing by the id of the DataGrid (i.e. id="ds0") as in itemClick="doTest(ds0.selectedItem.idnumber);" works fine {doTest function currently just calls Alert.show with the passed value and in this format shows the idnumber} my current attempt at referencing the object is also working - itemClick="doTest(event.currentTarget.selectedItem.idnumber)"

Now I have to try to use the Datagrids selectedItem as the dataProvider for a little custom component (just a couple of standard components on a Canvas)
            Thanks Again.