6 Replies Latest reply on Aug 27, 2008 1:12 PM by Brian Stew

Director and After Effects CS3

lpoetschke
      Can anyone tell me what the difference is between Director and After Effects CS3? I am new to the world of animation but would like to purchase the best product for my needs. I am looking to create animations that would allow the user to press buttons on their keyboard to change the word on the screen while maintaining the same background animation. Which program do I need?

Thanks in advance!!!
        • 1. Re: Director and After Effects CS3
          Level 7
          After Effects is a 2D composition program - used e.g. to create tv spots,
          film titles, and video effects.

Director is an authoring tool / programming language, that can sure do what
          you ask.

"lpoetschke" <webforumsuser@macromedia.com> wrote in message
          news:g92hsv$son$1@forums.macromedia.com...
          > Can anyone tell me what the difference is between Director and After
          > Effects
          > CS3? I am new to the world of animation but would like to purchase the
          > best
          > product for my needs. I am looking to create animations that would allow
          > the
          > user to press buttons on their keyboard to change the word on the screen
          > while
          > maintaining the same background animation. Which program do I need?
          >
          > Thanks in advance!!!
          >

• 2. Re: Director and After Effects CS3
            Brian Stew Level 2