6 Replies Latest reply on Mar 14, 2017 3:44 AM by rachellefacistolmata

Export Indesign images with their clipping paths

rachellefacistolmata Level 1

Hi! I am new to Indesign. I have a file that contains images with Photoshop clipping paths. I want to export all the clipped images in a folder. I have tried doing the "Copy Links To" and it successfully exported the original images. However, I do not want the original images but the clipped images instead. Is there a way for me to export all the clipped images as JPEG or TIFF and not the original linked image? In short, I want to export the images without their background. Or maybe export each image (with its corresponding clipping path) as a file, then I'll just convert them in Photoshop. I hope I'm making sense.

I hope there's a way to do this. I have about 800 images so a batch processing method would be highly appreciated.
      Thank you!

• 1. Re: Export Indesign images with their clipping paths

I actually found a way to export the images the way I want them to be. I just need to click the image container (not the image), go to File>Export and then export it as JPEG. It exports the images the way I want them to be. I just have two concerns:
          1. Is there a way for me to do this by batch? Like select all the image containers and export them one by one?
          2. Is there a way to automatically name the saved files according to the original image name?

• 2. Re: Export Indesign images with their clipping paths
            Steve Werner Adobe Community Professional & MVP

It's possibly scriptable. If you don't get an answer here, ask in the InDesign Scripting forum:

InDesign Scripting

1 person found this helpful
            • 3. Re: Export Indesign images with their clipping paths
              Migintosh Level 4