9 Replies Latest reply on Mar 20, 2017 7:48 AM by Till Krueger

What replaced the former "3D Scene Position" timeline?

Till Krueger

I have spent my entire Sunday trying to find a solution to what should be a super-simple task: to animate the rotation of a 3D Moon object around its own Y axis.

It seems that all the tutorials I found use old versions of Photoshop (CS6 and CC) which still have a timeline called "3D Scene Position", but this item has gone away shortly after, it seems, and all the forum posts that I could find addressing its puzzling absence, some going back to 2014, have been ignored by Adobe staff.

I used to be a 3D animator by profession and usually know my way around 3D software rather quickly, but to not be able to keyframe the Y rotation (or any other positional parameters) of an object is about as necessary and basic for 3D animation as it gets. I must be missing something obvious here as I cannot imagine Adobe removing this timeline without making its functions accessible in some other way. But how does one accomplish something as simple as an animated globe rotation around its own pivot point now? Could someone help me out and point me to the answer?

A new project requires me to animate certain layers of a rather complex Photoshop file that I created for a client, and while it's possible, in theory, to pick up some new skills for - say - Cinema 4D, it would be sooo much simpler to animate the elements I need in Photoshop itself...and that is what its 3D module is supposed to let you do, no?

Hope there is a solution!

• 1. Re: What replaced the former "3D Scene Position" timeline?
          davescm Adobe Community Professional

Hi

See screenshot below (Photoshop CC2017.0.1).

The object is called Mesh Example which was just a preset Cube map.

In timeline, use Create Video timeline -then :

To move the object :