• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

mms.cfg configured but still getting intermitent Flash Player Update prompt

Mar 20, 2017 Mar 20, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Dear Experts:

I need help to stop Flash Player Updater prompt. I have been deploying Flash Player for 2 years via SCCM 2012 with no issues. Starting 2017 January release, the mms.cfg does not seems to work anymore.

My Scenario:

Windows 7 x64

Flash Player 24.0.0.221 (outdated)

mms.cfg located in C:\Windows\Syswow64\Macromed\Flash And C:\Windows\System32\Macromed\Flash (solution found in other Adobe Forum thread)

mms.cfg settings:

AutoUpdateDisable=1

SilentAutoUpdateEnable=0

I have done:

- removed the Flash Player Settings Manager from Control Panel,

- removed Task scheduler "Adobe Flash Player Updater".
- Adobe Flash Player Updater set to "Manual" in Services.msc.

Despite all the above being done, I still have standard users complain on intermittent prompt for Flash Player update. It did stopped the prompt when I placed mms.cfg into System32\macromed\Flash folder last month before deploying 24.0.0.221. However, starting March, when version 25.0.0.127 was released, the same user starts getting the same update prompt again. I could not simulate the prompt nor find any other solutions from other forums. Did read something about Background Update Service. How do I completely stop it? Please help.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe Employee ,
Mar 21, 2017 Mar 21, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi kathereeneee

Are you using the MSI or EXE installers?  What plugin type (ActiveX, NPAPI, and/or PPAPI) are you deploying?