• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Path copypaste is changing size or position

New Here ,
Mar 24, 2017 Mar 24, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi. Im new to after effects and im currently running in to 2 problems that are sort of related. maybe someone can help.

First:

1) create an ellipse with the ellipse tool.

2) convert the path into a bezier path and copy it

3) create a new shape layer and paste the path into it

Now the both shapes, tho the same, don't line up. why is that and can i make it so they do, so i dont have to do it manually? I also ran into problems where pasted shapes got smaller or bigger than the originals, tho i cant replicate them currently.

Second:

i tried to follow some small tips by mt. mograph on youtube -  here is the link Summit 78 - 5 'Underground' Tricks for After Effects - YouTube

its around the 4:17 mark that he copied a path and pasted it into the "position" of the circle. After he did that the circle lined up with the path and followed it. when I tried to do that the anchor point lined up with the path but the original circle was off to the side and followed the anchorpoint that way - with that weird offset. also i couldnt figure out how to get the circle back to that anchor point, moving the circle moved the anchorpoint as well and deformed the path. creating a new circle worked around the problem, but im still confused why it didnt work like it did in the video.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Mar 26, 2017 Mar 26, 2017