9 Replies Latest reply on Mar 28, 2017 5:31 PM by Trevor.Dennis

TIFF vs PSD

jiříp92587069

Hi,

I am new to Photoshop. Can you please tell me what is better to use nowadays - TIFF or PSD?

I read lots of (relatively old) discussions and somebody tells PSD can store lots of Photoshop actions data than TIFF. But others say TIFF can do the same and is cross-platform.

So what to choose:

a) for photos - without layers

b) for web graphics - with layers

Thanks a lot,

Jiri

• 1. Re: TIFF vs PSD
          Sahil.Chawla Adobe Employee

Hi Jiri,

The main difference between a psd and a tiff is based on the size limit.
          PSD size limit is 2GB,

Tiff can handle more than 2GB.

You can use both files for both web graphics and photos but it depends on the size document on which format you should use.

Regards,

Sahil

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: TIFF vs PSD
            Derek Cross Adobe Community Professional

You may get various answers to this!

I suggest you work in PSD in RGB color mode, and keep your layered file in case you have to do more work on it subsequently (i.e. don't flatten it).

Safe the PSD as a JPG and make copies for use in other applications – vary the size and resolution depending on the image use, e.g. whether it's for printing or for the web.

• 3. Re: TIFF vs PSD

You can't use native PSD or TIFF on web pages, only JPG, PNG or GIF.

• 4. Re: TIFF vs PSD
                jiříp92587069 Level 1

I'm sorry, I know about exports to .jpg, .png etc.

But I need to save original file too, for later changes. And I don't know which is better for this purpose - TIFF or PSD. I read that TIFF doesn't support some Photoshop stuff, but lots of people say that doesn't matter. So do you thing I lose something when I save image made in Photoshop, with layers, in TIFF?

By the way, Photoshop automatically save as .tif and not .tiff - is it OK?

Thanks.

• 5. Re: TIFF vs PSD