Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

TIFF vs PSD

New Here ,
Mar 28, 2017 Mar 28, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

I am new to Photoshop. Can you please tell me what is better to use nowadays - TIFF or PSD?

I read lots of (relatively old) discussions and somebody tells PSD can store lots of Photoshop actions data than TIFF. But others say TIFF can do the same and is cross-platform.

So what to choose:

a) for photos - without layers

b) for web graphics - with layers

Thanks a lot,

Jiri

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Mar 28, 2017 Mar 28, 2017

Hi

I use PSD. See attached link which states "To preserve all Photoshop features (layers, effects, masks, and so on), save a copy of your image in Photoshop format (PSD)."

https://helpx.adobe.com/photoshop/using/file-formats.html

That said, I not heard anyone who uses TIFF have an issue with it

Dave

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Adobe Employee ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi Jiri,

The main difference between a psd and a tiff is based on the size limit.
PSD size limit is 2GB,

Tiff can handle more than 2GB.

You can use both files for both web graphics and photos but it depends on the size document on which format you should use.

Regards,

Sahil

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

You can't use native PSD or TIFF on web pages, only JPG, PNG or GIF.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

You may get various answers to this!