6 Replies Latest reply on Mar 29, 2017 9:52 AM by Gutter-Fish

Departure Board: Starting and stopping and starting again with expressions?

martinw51935614

Sorry if this question was asked before. I searched this forum and google and so on, but couldn't find any help.

I'm a newbie to after effects and expressions.

This is my topic:

I have a base comp that shoes a departure board like it is on airports or railway stations. It is divided in three lines, each with thirteen flipping cards.

Every flipping card is a layer with the same little animation where the letters rotate from A to z. All together 39 single flipping cards.

What I try to achieve is that all the letters at first make one loop from A to Z. In the next loop one flipping card should stop for example at "P", the next one when it reaches "O" and so on until the last one has reached the desired letter for the complete word i want to show. The rest should stay at their base blank position. After a few seconds the letters should start from their last stopping point or the base position, rotate and stop one after another at the desired next letter of the next word. Again holding this word for a few secs and rotate again.

Up to this point i've done this with time remapping and thousends of keyframes for starting and stopping points.

But, it is a horror show of layers and keyframes.

If i want to pause a word for a little longer i have to move thousands of keyframes.

It's a mess.

Also I have the problem, that i have to loop manually and this leads to the problem, that at the end of a loop, before the next loop starts, for only one frame blinks a  "back loop" to the starting point. I've made a blank layer wich i position all over my departure board every time this effect appears.

Is there a more elegant way by using e.g. markerkeys, expressions etc. to let this all work?