2 Replies Latest reply on Dec 15, 2008 3:05 PM by bmoussavi

Optimization and scaling keyframes

bmoussavi
      Hello everyone. I'm new to these forums, but I have searched around for answers to some of the problems I've run into before posting this up. I do not do web design, but actually I design UI for videogames. This is my first time using flash for UI surprisingly and I am trying to find ways to better optimize my scenes.

Before I begin, I have to say that I'm not using many vectors outside of using them for masking purposes. Since layer effects like bevel and emboss, outer glow, etc. do not carry over in-game when the swf is exported, I have to use textures (targas more specifically) to get around the issue. This makes the scenes very inefficient and rather bloated in size.

I have already tried adjusting the export options (like changing the jpeg export quality settings from 100 to 50), but there are a few other things I think could help us optimize these scenes and, of course, I don't know how to do it in flash.

Now, my first issue is adjusting keyframes. I know how to change your FPS in the stage's properties panel, but here's the problem...if you set your fps, start working, and decide to change your fps at a later time, you're in for a world of hurt. Keyframes in your timeline do not scale up or down to match the changes you've made to your stage's fps. So, obviously, my question is... do any of you know how to scale the keyframes in a scene to match your adjusted fps in flash?