7 Replies Latest reply on Apr 23, 2017 2:00 AM by Yehuda Katz

Why I should use PhoneGap insdead of manual code compilation in xCode, Android Studio?

Yehuda Katz

Hello,

I am new to hybrid app development. As far as I understood, PhoneGap is based on Cordova. Then why should I use PhoneGap instead of manual code compilation in xCode and Android Studio? Both Cordova and PhoneGap offers apps for testing code on real device. PhoneGap supports all Cordova's plugins. I am sure PhoneGap should have advantages but I cannot find any information about them!

Thanks in advance

Yehuda Katz

• 1. Re: Why I should use PhoneGap insdead of manual code compilation in xCode, Android Studio?
          hollyschinsky Adobe Employee

Hi Yehuda,

PhoneGap is Adobe's distribution of the open source Apache Cordova project.

PhoneGap is Cordova at the core but has some additional tools and services to help make building cross platform apps even easier. For instance, the PhoneGap Build service allows you to build/sign apps for multiple platforms through a cloud service rather than having to configure an environment manually for each platform (Android Studio/SDK's, Xcode etc).

There's also the PhoneGap Developer app, which you install from an app store to your device and allows you to preview/test your apps quickly without having to package them in advance. It's basically a sandbox type environment with a set of pre-installed Cordova plugins to allow you to try features quickly without having to worry about installing them first.