Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How to pull columns together?

Community Beginner ,
Apr 24, 2017 Apr 24, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi!

I'm having problems with columns in a document. I have some paragraphs that consists of lists of words, and to keep these paragraphs shorter, I thought of creating columns "locally" instead. However, I think the columns are too far apart but can't get them close enough:

columns.PNG

In this particular place, the words paragraph style has left indent of 70 to keep them some distance from the left border. The column options are Split columns 2 with no gutter (inner/outer). If I raise the outer gutter, they move closer to each other but not close enough until they suddenly just starts jumping around.

I'm really a newbie in ID so there might be an easy answer...

Thanks!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Advocate ,
Apr 24, 2017 Apr 24, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Maybe try to split into 3 columns? Or even 4 columns

You can also prepare two independent text frames with text flow beetween

Pawel

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Beginner ,
Apr 25, 2017 Apr 25, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi macpawel and thanks for helping out! I've thought about those solutions but the problem is that if I choose additional columns the text will line break and the words still be too far apart (sorry, am not at the computer so I can't show a screenshot), just like there were indents messing it up.

You are absolutely right in that I could make multiple text frames but I'd love to find a solution just based in styles.

Johan

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines