14 Replies Latest reply on Dec 9, 2008 10:57 AM by Boxy_999

Integer math just doesn't add up

Boxy_999
      I'm a Flex 3 newbie so apologies if I'm being stupid but I'm seeing discrepancies in the debugger between the integer value of a calculation and what an integer variable is reported to contain. See example code.

In the debugger, when I highlight ((71/9)/3)*3 a popup displays the result 6. However, when I highlight numRegion the popup box displays 7. The Variables window shows the value of numRegion to be 7 also.

I tried using int(((71/9)/3)*3) and Math.floor too but I haven't yet found a way to get the correct result of 6.

Can anyone help?

Thanks in advance
        • 1. Re: Integer math just doesn't add up
          Ansury Level 3
          Not 100% sure but I'd bet that the math is being done by default as a Number type, which is like a float in C/Java - so no dropping of the remainders. If you don't drop the remainders you get almost 8 (7.888...), which then gets rounded down (drop the entire remainder for "cpu style" integer rounding).... to 7.

I haven't done a heck of alot of math in Flex/Flash so I can't say what the default type it uses if none is specified, but I think it's Number.
          • 2. Re: Integer math just doesn't add up
            Ansury Level 3
            Wait wait, the debugger is saying 6? Heh. That seems strange, I'll have to check into that. I'd think you should get 7 there too..
            • 3. Integer math just doesn't add up
              Ansury Level 3
              My debugger says 7, of course I'm on a Flex 2 workstation now, not FB3. Can't test 3 atm, maybe someone else can. Maybe it's a bug in the debugger? Kinda surprised that's possible, though. It's as if the debugger is using "int" instead of Number by default to do that math, or at least rounding down after each operation.
              • 4. Re: Integer math just doesn't add up
                rtalton Level 4
                Hi,