3 Replies Latest reply on Dec 9, 2008 10:57 PM by Dave Hogue

PDF from (old) Fireworks

pjb88
      Hi,

I have Fireworks MX 2004 and I have created a page I need to have as a PDF for distribution - as you will gather I am not very good with this stuff...

The file was made a while ago (hence the old version of firewosks), I now have Adobe Design Premium CS3 but that doesn't give me a newer version of Fireworks.

The document is 993 by 1403 pix with a resolution of 120 pix/inch and I need to export it as a PDF.

I have Acrobat 8 Proffesional and I have tried exporting the file from fireworks in a number of formats and then creating a PDF in Acrobat. JPEG gives me the best look outcome but the quality is not perfect.

My question is; how can I get a perfect quality PDF from this file? Should I open it or export it to one of the programs in Design Premium CS3 - Photoshop? Or is there a better way?

Many Thanks in advance,
        • 1. Re: PDF from (old) Fireworks
          pixlor Level 4
          Have you tried exporting a 24-bit flattened .png? Give it a different name so you don't overwrite yor source file. That should be better quality than the .jpg.
          • 2. Re: PDF from (old) Fireworks
            Sarthak Singhal Adobe Employee
            Fireworks is available in Design Premium 3.3 version. You can try opening the file in Illustrator or Photoshop and export it as a PDF file.

For your information: Fireworks CS4 natively allows for export to PDF. All the pages within fireworks png file are exported as different pages of PDF document.
            • 3. Re: PDF from (old) Fireworks
              Dave Hogue Level 2
              Unfortunately, a "perfect quality" PDF from a bitmap at 120 pixels/inch is probably not possible, though it definitely will not look as soft and blurry as a 72 pixels/inch bitmap would!