4 Replies Latest reply on Oct 10, 2008 6:30 AM by TomorrowPlusX

Trouble with IE6 & 7

TomorrowPlusX
      I've built a simple Flash 9/AS3 app, a timeline of Abe Lincon's life for Ford's Theatre in Washington DC. Aside from some placeholder images and copy, the app works correctly. Note: I developed it in the Flash 9 IDE ( Creative Suite 3 ) on Mac OSX.

Anyway, it works wonderfully in Firefox and Safari for OS X, and it works in Firefox for Windows XP. But for the life of me, I can't make it work in IE6 or IE7 for Windows XP. And since I'm not a windows-based dev, I'm not good at IE debugging, thus I have no idea why it doesn't work in IE.

When it fails in IE6, I get just a gray rectangle in the color of the stage background. When it fails in IE7, I get the initial "frame" ( if you can call it that these days in AS3 apps ) which is a movie clip of two red curtains, closed. Normally, once the app bootstraps, it should download an XML file which describes the basic data the app needs, and it should present an intro panel, and a button to get started. If you load this in Firefox ( or are on a Mac ) you'll see what I'm describing.

Here's a link to the app in question:

Ford's Theatre Timeline

Note: I'm using a pretty recent version of SWFObject for the embed; I've been using SWFObject for a while now, and have never seen it have problems with IE.

Note #2: I have a fairly recent version of the flash plugin installed -- 9.0.124.0 -- the people having trouble have an older version. BUT: They can see it using Firefox. So it strikes me as an IE thing, not a flash thing.

Finally, this is my first post to these forums. I've been using flash since the late 90's... but this is my first time here. Please let me know if there's any convention to these forums that I may be missing out on.

Thanks,
        • 1. Re: Trouble with IE6 & 7
          RossRitchey Level 4
          It looks the same in my FF3 as it does in my IE7, which tells me that it is working in IE.