14 Replies Latest reply on Oct 16, 2008 1:01 PM by pixlor

Trouble with Fireworks to Dreamweaver integration

Henrici
      Hi, I am just learning both programs so bear with me if I have made a simple mistake.
      I have designed a page in Fireworks that I want to have as basically want to have as the background with a few button slices. I then exported the html to dreamweaver but when I open it up it doesnt take up the whole canvas. I made the original page in fireworks at 1000 x 1000 thinking that would fill it up. Is there something that I am missing or doing wrong?
        • 1. Re: Trouble with Fireworks to Dreamweaver integration
          JoeDaSilva Level 4
          Can you post a link to a site that you like that "fills up the whole canvas"? Then I can explain how they did it.
          • 2. Re: Trouble with Fireworks to Dreamweaver integration
            Henrici Level 1
            I guess even this page is the idea that i want.
            I see other pages like this: http://www.ommegang.com/
            that just a color for the background but I was trying something more like this: http://www.adobe.com/devnet/fireworks/samples/pen_gradient_showcase.html
            That was what I was trying to emulate, with a pattern built into the background. I know thats just a sample and not a website, but I couldnt find any quickly that had exactly what I ment.

• 3. Re: Trouble with Fireworks to Dreamweaver integration
              JoeDaSilva Level 4
              Henrici,

Sorry for the delay with this response, it's not an easy answer and I had to wait until I had a larger block of freetime.

To answer your question, you can't do this as simply as Fireworks would make it appear. The main reason is that you're not designing for a fixed-size canvas like you would be with a print design. As different users are going to have different monitor sizes you have to learn to accommodate their different resolutions, or "viewports" as best you can.