3 Replies Latest reply on May 23, 2017 10:47 PM by ManiacJoe

Best location for Catalog, cache and presets?

douger

I am trying to optimize Lr 6.5.1 -- the goal is to safeguard critical files and to ensure maximum performance.  I'm fairly new with Lr and, frankly, find the whole file location discussion a bit overwhelming.  Would greatly appreciate any suggestions on how to simplify this process.  many many thanks, in advance.

• 1. Re: Best location for Catalog, cache and presets?
          JimHess Adobe Community Professional & MVP

There really shouldn't be anything overwhelming about it. The only file that Lightroom opens is the catalog. The catalog can be located anywhere, on any drive that is local to your computer. In other words, it cannot be on a network drive. I'm a Windows user and the default location is in Pictures->Lightroom. In that folder is where you will find the catalog and the previews and smart previews and other related files that support the catalog. That's all there is to it. Your images can be on any hard drive of your choosing. As you import your images their location will be recorded in the catalog so that any adjustments you make will be associated with them. If the catalog is on a SSD drive it is possible that performance may be enhanced. But it's also likely that storing your images on SSD drives will not necessarily enhance performance.

• 2. Re: Best location for Catalog, cache and presets?
            douger Level 1

This was very helpful!  Many thx.

Sent from my iPhone

• 3. Re: Best location for Catalog, cache and presets?
              ManiacJoe Adobe Community Professional

Safeguarding files:

1. Make sure your catalog and the catalog backups are on two separate drives. By default, the backups are wrongly in a subfolder of the folder containing your main catalog.

2. You need to backup your images to a separate drive than your master original images. (LR will not do this for you.)