5 Replies Latest reply on Feb 10, 2009 12:04 PM by Peter Lorent

Scaling Flex Components

jeffreypritchard
      Hi,
      I'm a Flash developer, and I have a lot of graphical content stored in my Flash project libraries that I intend to integrate into my Flex project. I've downloaded the extension that allows me to export a swc as a Flex component. That all works fine, but I can't seem to scale the objects properly (specifically using the scaleX and scaleY).

From what I can gather the reason why has to do with the way Flex handles content in it's individual containers, but I still can't seem to grasp how I can get my graphics to scale to the size I need them.

There are probably over a hundred MovieClip objects (linked to AS3 classes for controlling their appearance and behavior) in my .fla libraries that I need to use, but this is a major obstacle right now. I realize it is going to be tedious to convert them all over to Flex components, but the graphics are required for the app.

I know I can't be the only one to try to do this, but I'm at a loss for how to get this accomplished. I haven't been using Flex that long, so if this is a stupid question, I apologize.

Any guidance on where I can find out what to do would be appreciated.
        • 1. Re: Scaling Flex Components
          Peter Lorent Level 2
          Adding the attached override to the class that is connected to the Flash symbol seems to resolve this.

• 2. Re: Scaling Flex Components
            jeffreypritchard Level 1
            Hi Luigi,

I've been away from the Flex Component Kit work for a while, but now I'm back into it, and I've still got an issue with the scaling of components coming from Flash (CS3). Ideally I'd like to be able to scale my components dynamically, and I understand that overriding the setActualSize will work, but is there a better way to scale the content based on the container the component is in (HBox, VBox, etc), perhaps some way to do percentage scaling (scaleX, scaleY).