• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Designing T-Shirts

Community Beginner ,
May 27, 2017 May 27, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm new to Photoshop and Illustrator so bear with me.

I'm trying to send t-shirt companies my design. On their guidelines, they request that I use vector files for the best result. I did my work in in Illustrator to trace the image and then I dragged it into Photoshop. I saved the Photoshop as a png file to get a transparent background after doing some color work. Because the website requests that I use vector I tried placing that file back in Illustrator. The problem is that all the colors changed. It now looks garbage.

What's the best way to get my art to vector with the colors that I want?

Thanks in advance.

CR

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

LEGEND , May 27, 2017 May 27, 2017

Yeah, illustrator can take some time getting use to. Especially if you never used it before. Illustrator does have a gradient tool but what is better is the blend tool. As each shade is an individual object. However that can choke some printers.

The paint bucket tool is really nothing more than a fill tool. But can be easier for beginners to use that haven't learned all the shortcuts yet.

Some prefer the gradient tool in photoshop over illustrator, but I personally think it is more what you are us

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Leave it in Illustrator. Do all your work there. When you put it in photoshop it is rasterized. Png it self is a raster format.

Vector formats are ai, eps and pdf. Eps is not used much any more except for when needing to import into older programs. As it lacks a lot of features that ai and pdf have.