3 Replies Latest reply on Nov 14, 2008 3:22 PM by DavideBarranca

PixelBender Vs SDK

DavideBarranca Level 1
      Hello,
      I'm currently evaluating the possibility to write filters, but I have a "philosophical" problem: since I'm no programmer I'm collaborating with a friend of mine (who actually is a C-sharp programmer) and we're at first deciding which developing environement to choose - namely, PixelBender or Photoshop SDK.
      Since we're in the middle of a transition toward CS4 and still no new SDK are available, PixelBender is very appealing - seems quite "easy" and the prospected integration with Photoshop is a good point as well. But I'm not really aware about its intrinsic limits; for instance, I'm sure via PixelBender we can not make calls to Photoshop filters (as I would need), nor, I think, do color conversion (RGB to Lab). To rewrite, for instance, a gaussian blur filter from scratch is probably not so difficult (there should be a lot of documentation about it), and maybe we can implement some javascript, but I'm still not so convinced: there are maybe things that, being not a programmer, I'm not aware of - and they could compromise our efforts. On the other hand, I've been told that SDK are quite a pain in the neck.
      Any advice from expert filter writers? What won't I never be able to do with Pixel Bender?
      Many thanks in advance,

Davide Barranca
        • 1. Re: PixelBender Vs SDK
          DavideBarranca Level 1
          Bump?! :-)
          Thanks in advance for those who will give me some light,
          regards,

Davide
          • 2. Re: PixelBender Vs SDK
            Kevin Goldsmith Level 3
            You asked a very general question. I'm not sure even I have an answer for you.

Let me try to answer your specific issues. One thing I should be clear about is that I am only talking about the 1st version of the Pixel Bender Plug-in for Photoshop CS4. Things will change over time.