6 Replies Latest reply on Oct 9, 2008 5:22 AM by gmurnock

Flex + BlazeDS + ColdFusion + SQL

Laurence MacNeill Level 1
      Ok, I'm relatively new to this whole Flex thing -- I've been through a few tutorials, written a few apps, but I'm still unclear on a few things.

I just want to write an app that reads record(s) from an SQL database, and allows the user to modify and update those record(s). Should be extremely simple, and yet somehow it's been overly complicated by a dozen layers of (seemingly unnecessary) software.

So here are my questions:

#1) Why can't Flex talk to an SQL database directly? Why do I need ColdFusion for this?

#2) What the heck is BlazeDS? (Yes, I've read the FAQ and I still don't understand why I need it.) If I'm running BlazeDS, do I really need ColdFusion? If so, why?

#3) In the BlazeDS FAQ, it mentions something about accessing server-side Java objects -- so do I need to install JavaEE on top of CF and the SQL database now, too?

It just seems so overly complicated for such a simple task.

If someone could explain all this to me, I would greatly appreciate it.
        • 1. Re: Flex + BlazeDS + ColdFusion + SQL
          riesvantwisk Level 1

1) Flex (AIR) can talk to SQLite directly and I believe there is a MySQL driver (Also air??) that can talk to MySQL directly. Other databases are not supported.
          The main reason for this is that flex (browser) needs a client/server architecture. It more or less is the same reason that javascript doesn't talk to any DB directly. And the reason is that http protocol is the 'standard' to communicate between a web-browser and a remote server, works across firewalls etc... For AIR there are simple no drivers yet, but I believe some are currently in development.