2 Replies Latest reply on Oct 23, 2008 10:08 PM by fober1

Form Validation CodeBase

Hi all.

I'm quite new to ColdFusion (about 3 weeks), and I just left a company that built a library of code that allowed designers to drag and drop form elements with pre-determined names, maxlengths, ids, etc. And their validation library took care of all the validation. I'm looking to create the same deal for my company, I've peeked into FlashForms, XML forms, using the onError method in the Application.cfc file. As well as using Dreamweaver Snippets (I'm new to DW too) that Developers can just drag-and-drop into place.

I was leaning towards using pre-built snippets for each form element (email, address, firstName, lastName, phone, fax, etc) which all follow a specific naming convention and create my validation libraries based on the naming conventions. I feel like I'd be wasting my time with everything that's out there already, but I'm concerned about killing too much time going in one direction that may lead to a dead end. I was hoping to find someone who might be inclined to point me in what they think is the best direction to go in, to create our own self-validating Forms library with the ability for a programmer to add in custom validation for those tricky form request. :)

Thanks. Sorry this post was so long... any help is appreciated. ;)
        • 1. Re: Form Validation CodeBase
          Level 1
          Ok. So, basically what I've decided to do is just forge ahead and just re-build all the form objects (with standard width's/heights, names, etc), create a Validation object, and Error display object, However, not just regular form objects, but commonly used ones like: email, firstName, lastName, as well as Name (which extends the aforementions first/last name), date (mm-dd-yyyy), etc etc....