4 Replies Latest reply on Oct 6, 2008 8:40 PM by chinmayagoyal

Character Movement + Rotation

chinmayagoyal Level 1
      Hello,
      I am currently working on a car racing game but I am new to designing the engine for my game such as the physics for my car. So, I took help from a tutorial but could'nt quite understand the trigonometry part, can you explain it.
      The part I did not understand was,
      x = Math.sin(_rotation*(Math.PI/180))*speed;
      y = Math.cos(_rotation*(Math.PI/180))*speed*-1;
      if (!_root.hit.hitTest(_x+x, _y+y, true)) {
      _x += x;
      _y += y;
      } else {
      speed *= -.6;
      }
      }
      Hope you can help me out,
      Thanking You,
      Chinmaya

P.S. I know how to convert degrees to radians and know a little about unit circles. The main part I dont understand is that why do we multiply the sin of angle(in radians) to the speed!
        • 1. Re: Character Movement + Rotation
          Rothrock Level 5
          I'm not sure if I understand. Do you just need to know why you are multiplying the speed or is there something that isn't working?

The multiplication is easy. Basically you have some speed, let's say 5. Now if you are going perfectly to the right along the x axis then you have 5 in the x direction and you have 0 in the y direction.

If you are going down the screen you have 5 in the y direction and 0 in the x direction. Easy.

But what if you are going at some angle? That is when it gets a little more tricky. Well back to your lovely unit circle. If you speed was 1 we have the same issue for the x and y directions. But if you go off at an angle you've got your sin component in the x direction and your cos in the y direction. And there you go, cos(0) = 1 and sin(0) = 0 meaning at an angle of zero all your motion is in the x direction.