• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

After effects isn't using the cashed frames (No blue bar)

Explorer ,
May 30, 2017 May 30, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello,

I'm a freelance motion designer using After Effects for more then 10 years. I've experienced this issue multiple times on multiple machines. I'm not seeing the blue bar that indicates cached frames when ram rendering (I used to). Also, After Effects is not using cached frames, so every little changed I make (like moving a layer) I lose my green bar and there's no blue bar or cached frames. I've tried all kind of ways to solve this problem:

1. Restarting After Effects

2. Deleting all memory and disk cache via purge in After Effects

3. Manually deleting cache folders

4. Allocating more disk cache size (50 GB)

5. Unable / disable disk cache

6. Empty disk cache/ clean database & cache

I'm using windows 10 64 bit

80 GB of RAM

2x xeon cpu 12 cores

500 GB SSD card for all cache folders

2x GTX 1080 Ti gpus (CUDA enabled)

Has anyone experienced this problem? Please let me know if there's a fix for it.

Thanks,

D.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Advocate ,
May 31, 2017 May 31, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

From what you are describing (at least in the second half), this is how the Global RAM cache works. if you make even the teeniest tiniest change in your comp, the RAM preview (green line) will be obliterated and so will the Disk Cache (blue line). Because AE needs to recalculate every frame all over again because of the change (even if it's just moving one layer one pixel).