23 Replies Latest reply on Oct 26, 2008 2:21 PM by :::@:::

Adobe program for nicer computers!!!

C-Rock Level 2
      I've been a creative professional for some years now and I never understood why companies like Adobe don't program for individuals or companies that keep their equipment up to date.

I've been working with Vista 64-bit since the day it came out. I have to say I haven't had much trouble with programs working, except Acrobat Pro. I use the 64-bit version because when available I will be able to use 128 GB's of memory. I installed my CS3 suite from day one and every thing worked great, minus Acrobat. My beef was that the instruction sets, processor cores/threads and the extra memory were never utilized. In fact Adobe had to release a multi-core update for photoshop to work correctly, months later. It ran like an 8086 processor computer until the release. In fact I was using CS2 for photoshop.

So needless to say I was pretty excited about the new CS4 to utilize all the power of my 9770 processor and 16 GB's of memory, not to mention the talk of 64 bit programs. How exciting someone over there is moving forward!

HOW ABOUT NO!!! Nice work Adobe. You made one 64 bit program that only accepts 8 GB's of memory. So when the new i7 intel processor comes out in a month with the x58 chipset using 24 GB's of memory won't work with the software I use every day, Flash and Photoshop won't use anymore than my two year old technology computer can throw at it.

We're talking 8 threads for the processor and 24 GB's of memory to start with. You know the power that would give the customer and how much faster and easier working with Adobe products would be? Sometimes I have Photoshop, Flash, Illustrator and AE open. All while checking emails and using the internet.