1 Reply Latest reply on Jun 27, 2017 2:58 PM by Rossatron

lightroom got unworkably slow – why the hell?

Lalelu

my lightroom cc got suddenly incredible slow. I guess, somewhat like 10 days ago it stopped to work properly. I did not change anything, no new computer, no new plugins. its not just a little slow, its so slow, i can't work with it anymore. As i am a professional, its a real problem. for export of 40 web sized jpgs it needs a half an hour. for a preview around 10-20 seconds. unbearable. i first created a new catalog with lesser images – no change. the i updated – no change. I updated my system – no change. deactivated gpu – nothing.

As i am not a computer nerd, i am terribly lost on what to do now. can someone give me some advice a "normal" user can understand, please?

working with a MacBook Pro with sierra 10.12.5 (Retina, 15-inch, Mid 2015), 2.8 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3,

AMD Radeon R9 M370X 2048 MB Intel Iris Pro 1536 MB

• 1. Re: lightroom got unworkably slow – why the hell?
          Rossatron

I have had the same issue.  I bought a Canon 1DXII recently and up until now I was using LR5 which was mostly fine, just a little lag.  As I had got a new camera LR5 no longer worked with the new files, which is incredibly frustrating.  I had to get CC and ok it is not too expensive, but what I massively resented was that is was basically UNUSABLE due to it being MASSIVELY slow.  So I had upgraded the software but downgraded the performance!!

I was all about to jump ship to Capture one, then tonight I came across a tick box in the preferences panel.  Under performance you can tick a box so that LR only uses the smart previews in the develop module.  This makes a HUGE difference to speed and LR is now usable again!  I have heard that LR does not utilise multi threading, which would explain why even though I have a 12 core Mac Pro with 64GB of RAM and a 2GB GPU, it is reaaaally slow in LR (unless) you do the above.