Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

need help creating workflow: timelapse RAWs to multiple final movies

Explorer ,
Jun 09, 2017 Jun 09, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi All,

I need a bit of guidance, I hope someone can help. I'm a timelapse photographer who shoots RAW still images and processes them into final movies for stock and social media, and I need a bit of help with the After Effects and Premiere Pro parts of my workflow.

I'm afraid I'm no expert when it comes to AfterEffects and PremierePro, and I need to use both to do what I want to do, which is to create 3 files from my RAW sequences:

1) a lossless full resolution (5K to 8K) high quality video file to use as a base for further processing (e.g. stabilisation or deflickering). This because I understand that using it for a base will be faster than rendering the RAW sequence every time

2) a 4K file for stock sites (with effects applied)

3) a watermarked HD for uploading to Instagram and Vimeo

I'm an experienced timelapse photographer (https://vimeo.com/bothhemispheres), and entirely comfortable with Lightroom and LRTimelapse aka LRT (this is assembly and ramping software for timelapses created from RAW still files), it's just the steps afterwards that I need help with.

Here's what I'm attempting to do now, and the problems I'm having (I'd be very grateful for any insights you more experienced post-production people might be able to offer):

1) edit in LR and LRT, save XMP with raw files (my cameras produce anywhere from 5K to 8K files)

2) open sequence in AfterEffects, create comp from sequence

3) render sequence as quicktime 16-bit 100% quality photo-jpeg  (I'm on a PC, so no ProRes for me).

-a recent 2000 shot 8K TL took just over 3 hours to render

4) re-import that .mov file into AE, create 4K comp and apply effects (usually Flicker Free plugin, and sometimes Warp Stabiliser), render again with 16-bit 100% quality photo-jpeg (this one for stock sites).