7 Replies Latest reply on Jun 21, 2017 8:49 PM by JJMack

Run a script to execute an action on several JPGs + custom text in each image

mikestyerphotography

Hello!

I am an actor headshot photographer, and I format my headshots to have white borders and the actors name. I currently create a new 8x10 at 300DPI. I then use an action in Photoshop CC (latest version) that prompts me to open a jpg, then it resizes the headshot (the headshot itself is 4:6 aspect ratio) to leave a white border, and it adds my name at the bottom of the image. I go in and I change the name to my subject's name. I then export the final result. The final product looks like this:

Example.jpg

I would like to automate this so that way I can select multiple images at a time, input the actor's name once, and have Photoshop spit out the files into a specified folder. Is this possible with a script, and if so, can anyone help me out with that? TIA!

• 1. Re: Run a script to execute an action on several JPGs + custom text in each image
          JJMack Most Valuable Participant

Why would you want to have and automated process that requires human intervention to enter Names.   You could easily add the name you want to the image files in some way like Filename or in the image's metadata info.   The Automated process could then be fully automated and even batched.  If all you need is a is a border around a single image a specific size and a name in the border it should be easy to automate.

Filenames, a simple frame template and a batch script could do it all.

The sample video does not show the File name stamp that could be done with my  Script BatchOneImageCollage. In my

Photo Collage Toolkit

Photoshop scripting is powerful and I believe this package demonstrates this A video showing a 5 image collage PSD template  being populated with images:

The package includes four simple rules to follow when making Photo Collage Template PSD files so they will be compatible with my Photoshop scripts.