• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How to force a user to view an imported video before moving to the next slide?

New Here ,
Jun 22, 2017 Jun 22, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I have text slides, T/F question slides, and slides with videos. I have tried embedding a video from Vimeo, and have tried using progressive streaming videos.

On the slides with videos, I need the user to be forced to watch the video from start to finish without being able to fast forward. The video should autoplay when slide is entered. The user can pause the video, rewind the video, adjust the volume, but can not fast forward through the video. When the video has been completed, a NEXT SLIDE button should appear. I can't seem to figure it out. I'm new to Captivate and trying to learn how variables work. How can this be done? Thx!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Explorer ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Have you tried extending the timeline the play length of the video, and then at the end of timeline have the next button appear?  For example for a 3 minute video have the timeline extended to 3 minutes 5 seconds.  At 3 minutes 2 seconds have the next button appear.  Make adjustments to the timeline as necessary. 

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Beginner ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

If you embed the video in a certain way, you can absolutely do this!