4 Replies Latest reply on May 22, 2006 4:19 PM by r_barlow

Actionscript Inside Movie Symbol

r_barlow
      I'm making a flash menu that is a movie symbol. There are sub menus in this movie that are involved in motion tweening so I made them movies as well. The animation all works greats but the sub menus actionscript don't. Does anybody have any information that will help me? I'm pretty new at this....
        • 1. Re: Actionscript Inside Movie Symbol
          boxdoctor Level 1
          Hi r_barlow....maybe you can give us some examples of the actionscript code that isn't working and where it appears...ie. in the .fla itself....via an .as file, etc. I have a feeling it's a scoping issue meaning that whatever code you're trying to execute isn't finding the target you want it to find and manipulate.

The BoxDoctor
          • 2. Re: Actionscript Inside Movie Symbol
            r_barlow Level 1
            Overall movie has an on(rollOver) event which activates all the animation via gotoAndPlay(".."). That all works wonderfully... the thing that isn't working is I want to be able to click on one of the movie objects to go to a new website:

on (release){
            getURL("..");
            }

The problem is the on release event isn't being triggered when I press on the object.

Sorry...don't know what a .as file is
            • 3. Re: Actionscript Inside Movie Symbol
              boxdoctor Level 1
              Ok...is there anyway you can post the code you wrote? Otherwise I'm guessing but I'm assuming you have the main menu clip called something like mcMainMenu (make sure your instance is named on your stage)

Inside of it you have the sub menus which "each?" is a movieclip as well? i.e. submenu1, submenu2, submenu3? So that when you click on either of them it will call the url event....right? Make sure each of those instances have a name as well (on the property inspector make sure it doesn't say <InstanceName> if it does...then that's probably the issue.