7 Replies Latest reply on Jun 26, 2017 10:10 PM by Prithviraj Dev

Best way to save images in Lightroom

Prithviraj Dev

Hi guys,

I'm fairly new to Lightroom CC, hence the pretty basic question, but one i'm sure plenty of noobs like me would be asking.

What is the best way to save images on your computer?

I transfer images (RAW files) on to my Mac from the DSLR,

view them in Photos (Apple Native software) and then chose the ones I wish to edit in Lightroom by selecting the export unmodified version option to a folder marked 'Photos for Lightroom'.

I then open Lightroom and import those files with the Smart Preview option checked.

And the 'Photos for Lightroom' folder is then deleted periodically by me since I feel there are two copies of the same image on my hard-drive.

So initially this method was working fine for me, but I have been having some issues with this way (obviously) of late.

Example:
      I shot an image six months ago and now I want to edit it in Photoshop via Lightroom and back but the option is greyed out.

I can still edit the image in Lightroom, export it and then open in Photoshop but that would be a roundabout way of doing it and I want to be able to save time on such a simple task.

What am I doing wrong in terms of file handling/organising and how do you do it?

I want to be able to not store the image twice, but just once and be able to edit it N number of times.

Thanks a ton.

• 1. Re: Best way to save images in Lightroom
          dj_paige Level 9

Let's use Lightroom terminology. There is no "Save" command in Lightroom, so you can't "Save" images. You want to Export the images to make a copy on the hard disk containing your edits.