3 Replies Latest reply on Jun 26, 2017 7:34 PM by Veachel

Lr 4 w/CD.  Bought new MacBook Pro, can I use disc on new computer?

Veachel

Just upgraded from a 2009 MacBook pro15 and purchased new MacBook 15 w/slide-bar.  I learned that now there is a monthly fee if I want to upgrade to LR6. 

I would prefer to stay away from a monthly fee and would be ok staying with LR4 if it will keep running in the future since I'm only an amateur.  I have the LR4 CD w/serial number still loaded on old mac. 

Questions: Do I need to remove LR4 from old computer?  Is it possible to load CD onto new computer without showing 30 day trial period and having to get on a monthly payment plan? 

Any helpful answers or suggestions to help clarify this process would be greatly appreciated. 

Thanks...Veachel

• 1. Re: Lr 4 w/CD.  Bought new MacBook Pro, can I use disc on new computer?
          Conrad C Adobe Community Professional & MVP

You should be able to install Lightroom 4 on the new MacBook Pro, but of course current Mac laptops don't have an optical drive, so you can't insert the CD unless you have an external optical drive. Instead, download the Lightroom 4 installer from this web page (Download Photoshop Lightroom) and just enter the serial number from your CD.

New Macs come with macOS 10.12 Sierra, but be aware that Lightroom 4 may not work properly on Sierra. Some of the known problems are in the Adobe tech note Known issues - Running Lightroom CC on macOS 10.12 Sierra. If any Sierra incompatibilities get in your way, you'll want to upgrade to the latest version of Lightroom 6. If you don't want to pay a subscription, Lightroom 6 is available without a subscription.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Lr 4 w/CD.  Bought new MacBook Pro, can I use disc on new computer?
            Mohit Goyal Adobe Employee (Admin)

Hi veachel,

We have sent you a private message, please check.

Regards,

Mohit