• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

System Components for speedy viewing, developing

Participant ,
Jul 06, 2017 Jul 06, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am a professional still photographer about to build a Win10 editing station around a socket 1151 Intel 7700K processor (Kaby Lake) to replace an IvyBridge 3770 I put together in early 2012. I see a few decisions for which I'd appreciate others' experience.

Like all of us, I want fast response by Lightroom in Import, development tool response, and Export. I have been working  for a few years with 32Gig RAM and will do so on the Win10 system; it's clear that this isn't the only key to speed. I have read a lot about "balanced" systems that best deliver this outcome. I usually import no more than 500 images at a time. Often as few as 100. I won't be covering events that generate 2000-3000 images this next 12 months. I have started avoiding importation of JPEGs and doing a little culling before Import.

First question for the community as  I start ordering the components for my new build: Will I get a significant, worthwhile, boost in speed by spending the extra $$ for PCI-channel memory as opposed to larger SATA-connected SSD?

One detailed case/discussion here

https://forums.adobe.com/message/9402475#9402475

...suggested splitting storage of recent images into a dedicated SSD as the best way to speed scrolling in either grid or loupe mode (whether previews were minimal, standard, or Smart). Interesting idea.

NVMe PCI-based flash memory vs. SATA SSDs:

I am experimenting with a new work step: copy all files from a card into an SSD, do some culling or organizing (like not bothering to Import JPEGs) and bring files into Lightroom from their new location. Of course, my catalog and previews are on an SSD (SATA). Further, I assign Photoshop scratch disk to my largest SSD.