11 Replies Latest reply on Aug 1, 2017 2:07 PM by Kevin-Monahan

AE Videohive Template modification

averykm

I recently purchased a template from Videohive and afterwards realized that I need to modify it. It's set to look like an old fashioned photo slideshow, complete with sound and frames. The part I'd like to change is the length of each placeholder. I'm new to AE and don't really understand how to manipulate and change the layers within a composition. I dragged one of the placeholders into the composition but was stymied when I tried to adjust the length. Also, is there a way to copy and paste attributes of one composition to another (similar to Premiere Pro)?

Thanks!

• 1. Re: AE Videohive Template modification
          Szalam Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Modifying things in a template can get really tricky really quickly. It all depends on how they've built it.

Usually it's best to cut to a full screen version of whatever you've got and then cut back to the template when you're ready to move on to the next placeholder.

• 2. Re: AE Videohive Template modification
            averykm Level 1

Yes, but how can I extend or lengthen the placeholders?

• 3. Re: AE Videohive Template modification
              Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Before you do anything start here: Basic AE

You need to learn the basics of composition settings, setting in and out points, adjusting the timing of keyframes and a bunch of other things before you start diving in and changing a bunch of things in a template that has placeholders, nested comps and animation. I don't know anyone that has successfully just jumped into AE and had any success without first spending some serious study time on the basic principals, the UI and the basics.