• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Renaming a clip selected in the project panel?

New Here ,
Jul 13, 2017 Jul 13, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi, I'm new to coding in any form so forgive the simple question. i wanted to create an extension for Premiere/Prelude that would help me rename clips. I haven't had any trouble with the HTML/Javascript part of this, and I have loaded the extension intro Premiere, but I can't figure out how to actually interact with objects inside of Premiere.

I have built a panel where the user inputs some information, and it's reformatted into a string. When the user clicks a button, right now an alert pops up with the string. What I would like to happen, is that when the button is clicked:

1. The currently selected clip in the project panel is renamed to the string generated by my extension panel.
  2. The next clip in the bin is selected.
  3. That clip is opened in the source monitor.

I feel like these should be relatively simple actions, but I cannot find any documentation on this at all. Several people have linked to PProPanel, but the only was scripts are renamed is by targeting the first item in a bin. There does not appear to be any way to rename a selected clip unless it is already in a timeline, which isn't particularly useful.

Thanks so much for your help!

TOPICS
SDK

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Engaged , Jul 15, 2017 Jul 15, 2017

Hi zachary,

if you use

app.enableQE();

var curSrcClip = qe.source.clip.name;

var curSrcPath = qe.source.clip.filePath;

will give you the name (and the file path if required).