5 Replies Latest reply on Jun 23, 2006 9:59 AM by Dave_in_Maine

Flex / J2EE Integration Project

Dave_in_Maine
      Greetings;

I am a developer at the University of Southern Maine and I am (excitingly) evaluting Flex 2.0 for use in developing RIA's here. Currently we develop using Eclipse 3.12 and JoNAS J2EE server. I am by no means fluent in J2EE technology, so please be patient and speak in normal speak!

We start off most of our applications with one of our canned webapplications (in Subversion), change a few properties in the XML files and we are good to go..

My problem lies in trying to integrate the files etc from Flex into our J2EE framework.

Let me be more specific. Here is our GenericWebapp structure

/GenericWebappROOT
      ----/src (location of our Java DAO's and other Java Code)
      ----/dist (destination of our compiled EAR's, WAR's, JAR's, RAR's)
      ----/ear
      --------/META-INF
      ------------application.xml
      ----/rar
      --------/META-INF
      ------------jonas-ra.xml
      ------------ra.xml
      ----/web (repository of our JSP/WEB pages)
      --------/WEB-INF
      ------------jonas-web.xml
      ------------web.xml
      ------------/lib
      ----------------files.jar
      --------index.jsp

My problem is, is how to I (physically) integrate a Flex application into this framework? There are .project, .configuration, web.xml files to deal with and not to mention the bin directories that flex uses etc. I can't (in Eclipse) do NEW - FLEX APPLICATION etc and then copy/past the files into the new structure.

Your insight is GREATLY appreciated,

--Dave
      University of Southern Maine

UPDATE: I am taking the flex.war file and trying to integrate that into my J2EE application