6 Replies Latest reply on Jul 20, 2017 8:05 AM by trshaner

Backing Up Lightroom 5

lyndseyp16242848

Hello! So I will try to explain this in as few words as possible. I am a wedding photographer and I am midway through my wedding season. I went to Apple because my 2013 Macbook Pro needed a new battery. I thought it would be a pretty easy process. They ended up not having a battery for my particular laptop and offered to give me a brand new 2015 MCP. Now, my question is how do I back up my lightroom catalog? I have been using TimeMachine but I heard that it doesn't back up Adobe products. I am midway through editing a wedding and I want to make sure my images are backed up in lightroom. I also have an editor and a portion of my images won't be back in time before I get the new laptop. How do I back up so that those smart previews can find their way back? I am a little stressed. I have been backing everything up and transferring onto an 8tb external hard drive. Thank you in advance!

• 1. Re: Backing Up Lightroom 5
          vishuagg19 Level 2

You can go to file Menu > Choose Export Catalog as...In the options check the option to include available previews.

This will export the complete catalog to the defined location and than you double the .lrcat file to open in the new Lightroom(new laptop). 

• 2. Re: Backing Up Lightroom 5
            lyndseyp16242848 Level 1

Ok! I have watched some videos where people literally just drag the lrcat and lrdata files onto an external drive and then open the new catalog on the new laptop. Is this something that would work also? That just seems way too easy and non effective. I am only working off one catalog but I want to make sure my back ups and LR settings folder comes along as well. Can I drag and drop those onto the external too? Please help!

• 3. Re: Backing Up Lightroom 5
              dj_paige Level 9

Time Machine does make backups of Adobe products. Many people here use Time Machine for Lightroom.