• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How do I make a 3D chain?

Community Beginner ,
Jul 19, 2017 Jul 19, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I want to over/under lap some ellipses to make it look like a chain. The ellipses are "extruded and beveled" with the 3D effect. I've tired the "eraser," "knife," "scissors", and "live paint bucket" tools and just about everything else. This is for a company logo, so it needs to be clean and... well perfect. I'm new to adobe, and have all the apps if I need. thank you in advance for the help.

Below is a screenshot of a part of the logo...

Screen Shot 2017-07-19 at 9.53.36 PM.png

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Jul 20, 2017 Jul 20, 2017

Starting out the same.

Draw the rings, outline stroke, and use the Live Paint Bucket to color the areas to make them look overlapping.

Then Object > Live Paint > Expand. The Items are grouped.

Apply the 3D filter.

Object > Expand Appearance.

If you View > Outline, you will see all the shapes that result from expanding, and everything is grouped.

Then I used the Group Selection tool to select small shapes where they are supposed to overlap. After selecting the shape, cut it. Select the shape it should

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

This is one technique. It works the same, whether the rings are extruded or not.

Create the rings.

Select the rings and use the Scissors tool to cut them at each of their anchor points. Now each of the rings is divided into pieces. I've selected the lower left section of the blue ring.

Then Object > Arrange > Send to Back.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines