Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Table Spanning Across Two Columns Help

Contributor ,
Aug 04, 2017 Aug 04, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi all,

I am quite new to InDesign and need help with Tables. I cannot figure out how to span a table across a two-columns layout (see ref below). I've looked into the Tables options and I don't any options, and I use the Span column option in the paragraph style but no luck. Could anyone tell me what did I miss? Appreciate in advance!

Screen Shot 2017-08-04 at 8.14.16 PM.png

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

It's not clear from your screenshot where the cursor is. To have the table span columns, make sure that you select the paragraph that holds the table.

But you should be cautious with this. I've had no end of trouble with spanning tables using the table's parent paragraph's span settings -- paragraph column spanning is fragile, to say the least. You often end up with bad compositions or crashes. It's much safer to place those tables in separate text frames with text wrap applied.

Peter

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Contributor ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Thank you kindly pkahrel. I will take your advice and apply it.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'd guess it is your cursor position. Place your cursor on the ¶ directly above the table (which I assume is embedded in the story) and tap the right or down arrow. Your cursor will now be on the ¶ with the table:

InDesign CCss_007.png