4 Replies Latest reply on Jun 30, 2008 12:29 PM by yelgiw

Determining label name of button instance

yelgiw
      Hi! I'm new to actionscript and learning a lot but I'm having trouble organizing my code.

I have 12 button instances in my project, each with a distinct label. For each button I'm applying different sounds for different button actions, such as press, release, rollOver, ect. While the sound for each action category is different the sound for each button is different with in a given category. For example depending on what button you press the sound played is different. Right now I have four different actions I'm working with, which means I have 48 sound cues!

While my actionscript code works, it's very unorganized and hard to follow. Basically I have my wav files in an array like this:

var press_array:Array = new Array("press0.wav", "press1.wav", "press2.wav", "press3.wav", "press4.wav", "press5.wav", "press6.wav", "press7.wav", "press8.wav", "press9.wav", "press_astric.wav", "press_pound.wav");

I have an wav file array for each action; press, release, rollOver, rollOut.

Then for each button I have this set of code:

var press1:Sound = new Sound();
      press1.attachSound(press_array[1], true);

btn1.onPress = function() {
      press1.start();
      };

I have a defined variable and a button interaction function for each action/button combo and my script is now over 300 lines, but most of it is redundant.

Is there a way to call the label of a button? For instance when the mouse is in the hit area of btn1, then my_btn=btn1. Then I could have a much shorter script that looked something like:

when mouse is in hit area of a button
      get(button_name)
      my_btn=button_name

if
      my_btn=btn1
      int=1
      end

var press:sound = new Sound();
      press.attachSound(press_array[int], true);

my_btn.onPress = function(){
      press.start();
      }
      end