5 Replies Latest reply on Sep 5, 2017 5:06 AM by Abambo

Lightroom or Photoshop

robh21046457

Hi,

I'm new to these friendly forums and I hope you are fine with me asking what maybe basic questions.

I, not long ago, signed up for Photoshop and Lightroom.  In a nutshell can anyone suggest the primary differences

of the two products, say in three bullet points ? What the primary functions of both products are and when you why you

would use each ?  I suspect some folk will have different reasons and uses for both, however it would offer good and useful

insight to me as part of my learning curve.

Thanks

Rob

• 1. Re: Lightroom or Photoshop
          davescm Adobe Community Professional

Hi Rob

Lightroom is primarily a catalogue program - great for keywording, searching your images. It also provides non destructive adjustments to your images. Any adjustments made do not actually alter the image but are stored as a list of instructions that are applied each time you open that image.

Photoshop is primarily a pixel editor - allowing you to build up layers of an image and apply masks and blending modes affecting how those layers interact.

There is inevitably some overlap between the two, for example adjustment layers in Photoshop are also non destructive, but the above simple explanation should get you started in terms of which application to use. I start with Raw camera images in Lightroom where I "develop" them. I then move to Photoshop for pixel editing - for example cloning areas etc.

Dave

2 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Lightroom or Photoshop
            robh21046457 Level 1

Thats great Dave, and useful info. Thank you

1 person found this helpful
            • 3. Re: Lightroom or Photoshop
              terris86415680 Adobe Community Professional