Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Adding a Camera and Orbit Null with Extendscript

Community Beginner ,
Sep 13, 2017 Sep 13, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hey Guys,

Total Noob to all this scripting stuff, but I'm loving it so far!

I've got a problem where, I'm using the following to try and add a camera to my comp:

var myComp = app.project.activeItem;

var myLayers = myComp.layers;

app.beginUndoGroup("New Cam");

myLayers.addCamera("cam", [0,0]);

myLayers.addNull();

myComp.layer(1).name = "CAM_NULL";

myComp.layer(2).parent = myComp.layer(1);

app.endUndoGroup();

The problem I'm having is that when I just add a camera and a null using the UI, they are set up all centred nice and the other layers in my scene don't change. But, when I use my script, it seems like all of the layers in my comp shift to the right and down. I'm noticing this is because when I add the camera using the script, the Point of Interest and Position values for the camera go from (0,0,0) to (-960, -540, 0) when they get parented to the CAM_NULL. 😕

Anyhow, any input as to why this might be happening?

TOPICS
Scripting

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Participant , Sep 14, 2017 Sep 14, 2017

Hi Atekker

No worries, it's a simple fix.

It didn't run because I assigned my composition to a variable "comp" and you assigned it to "myComp".

To fix that you need to fix two lines of your code:

myCam.property("ADBE Transform Group").property("ADBE Position").setValue([comp.width/2, comp.height/2,negZoom]); //if you run the script from Extend Script before fixing, you will see at bottom left "comp is undfined". This is your clue that the variable does not exist. In this line replace comp with myCom

Votes

Translate

Translate
Participant ,
Sep 14, 2017 Sep 14, 2017