1 Reply Latest reply on Sep 27, 2017 9:19 PM by Liam Dilley

    Is this a scam? Form messages received regarding SSL Certificate

    Penny Halsall Level 1

      My website is hosted with Business Catalyst. It's a simple site with a contact form.


      On a number of occasions I have received the following message?


      This notice is to inform you that the encryption on your website is no longer valid. This means that anyone can listen in or snoop on your communications and customer emails. In addition to the obvious dangers that this presents, it also makes you legally liable for all damages and a $250,000 statutory fine. To fix this problem, you must install an SSL certificate on your website: https://securitycertificate.org?n=www.fridaygraphics.co.uk This will encrypt your communications and make all connections on your website secure. Professional nstallation and technical support for 1 year is available with the service. WARNING: Your website may stop working with 48 hours if it is reported as a malicious website, as a result of hosting insecure content. If you have already been blacklisted, we may be able to help get your website back online. Order your secure certificate on: https://securitycertificate.org?n=www.fridaygraphics.co.uk We deliver the certificate to your email within minutes and also offer professional installation and tech support. Please note that this is the final notice that we are required to send to you and can not be held liable should you fail to comply with this notice. For more information see part 8.3R of our user agreement.


      I am unsure what to do with it, as I assumed it was indeed a scam but normally I can verify I scam as other people have generally posted about it somewhere on the web but with this I can't find any reference to it.  The tone of the messages has become increasingly threatening too.