• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Simulating conditions for an LED wall in Photoshop - ICC Profile?

New Here ,
Sep 29, 2017 Sep 29, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello

We have a chinese-made video wall similar to this one:

Leyard uEV Series | Leyard

It travels and we cannot test our imagery on it until right before a show, on site. We need a way to test our imagery on this very limited gamut.

We are attempting to develop a system that will allow us to (somewhat accurately) recreate the crappy video screen look that is causing the banding on our images at the various venues. We have achieved limited success.

Since I am a total noob in terms of working within Photoshop’s color settings and profiles, I was hoping to set up an environment within Photoshop that could accurately emulate the conditions under which this banding takes place. I will outline below the limitations of the display technology as we understand them.

Display Characteristics

• Low resolution (typically 3840x1080)
  • Limited brightness
    • Display typically used outdoors
    • Display is set to around 5% or 10% of actual brightness for indoor use
  • Limited gamut
    • There is no way of knowing the actual gamut because of a lack of hardware documentation
    • Images appear to support less than 8-bit color

It is impossible to set one specific standard, as the panels will change from show to show (they are sourced locally for each venue), and we have no way of knowing what the limitations are until we get on site and they calibrate the displays for the show. Calibration is usually something that happens 1-2 days before each keynote.